WHAT TO DO IN THE AREA: ACTIVE ADVENTURES

Whether you’re looking to explore the past or blaze a trail for a new adventure, the Flint Hills has something for everyone. From lakes and waterfalls to historic courthouses and trails, you are sure to find something to pique your interest. Shop antiques till your heart’s content, hunt wild turkey and deer, zip around the lake with a speed boat, and enjoy a night under the stars on the prairie. All this awaits you in the Flint Hills of Kansas!

HISTORICAL & HERITAGE

Marion

Historic Elgin Hotel www.historicelginhotel.com

Marion County Courthouse http://www.marionks.us/tourism_attractions.php

Historic Santa Fe Depot http://www.marionks.com/tourism_depot.php

Marion Historical Museum http://www.kansastravel.org/marionmuseum.htm  http://www.marionks.net/museum.php

Central Park & Booker Spring http://www.kansastravel.org/centralparkspring.htm

Old Hill School, Marion http://www.getruralkansas.com/Marion/165Explore/849.shtml

Pilsen

Father Kapaun’s St. John Nepomucene Catholic church http://hfpmc.org/churches/st-john-nepomucene-pilsen

Hillsboro

Friesen Dutch Mill http://www.cityofhillsboro.net/museums.html

William F. Schaeffler house, Hillsboro http://www.cityofhillsboro.net/museums.html

Kreutziger Schoolhouse, Hillsboro http://www.cityofhillsboro.net/museums.html

Mennonite Settlement Museum, Hillsboro http://www.cityofhillsboro.net/museums.html

Florence

The Old Opera House in Florence now the Flint Hills Bakery http://flinthillsmarketandbakery.com/

Harvey House http://florenceks.com/text/local/local_harvey_house.htm

Old Arnold Schoolhouse, Florence http://www.getruralkansas.com/Florence/245Explore/1529.shtml

Crystal SpringS http://www.getruralkansas.com/Florence/245Explore/1564.shtml

Peabody

1880s Main Street http://www.peabodyks.com/peabody-main-street.htm

Russian Immigrants Mass Grave, Florence  http://florenceks.com/text/local/local_cemetery.htm

Peabody Printing Museum http://www.marioncountybusinessdevelopment.com/tourism/attractions/printingmuseum.html

Morgan House, Peabody http://www.peabodyks.com/

Peabody Historical Museum, Peabody http://www.peabodyks.com/area-attractions.htm

Goessel

Mennonite Heritage & Agriculture Museum, Goessel http://www.goesselmuseum.com/

Antelope

Amelia Park Bridge, Antelope http://landmarkhunter.com/169274-amelia-park-bridge/

Clements

Clements Stone Arch Bridge, Clements/Chase County http://www.clementsbridge.org

Cedar Point

Cedar Point Mill, Cedar Point http://www.cedarpointmill.com/history/

Matfield Green

Pioneer Bluffs, Matfield Green http://pioneerbluffs.org/

Herington

Railroad Museum Annex http://skyways.lib.ks.us/towns/Herington/museum

Newton

Kauffman Museum, Newton https://kauffman.bethelks.edu/

Mennonite Settler Monument, Newton https://ml.bethelks.edu/issue/vol-68/article/art-that-works-newtons-mennonite-settler-monument/

Cottonwood Falls

Chase County Courthouse http://chasecountychamber.org/chase-county-courthouse/

Strong City

Strong City Depot & Railroad Park http://chasecountychamber.org/strong-city-depot/

El Dorado

Kansas Oil Museum, El Dorado http://www.kansasoilmuseum.org/

Freedom Memorial, El Dorado  https://www.travelks.com/listing/freedom-memorial/4066/

Abilene

Eisenhower Presidential Library and Home https://www.eisenhower.archives.gov/index.html

Seelye Mansion, Abilene http://www.seelyemansion.org/

Lebold Mansion http://www.kansastravel.org/leboldmansion/

Old Abilene Town https://www.travelks.com/listing/old-abilene-town/202/ http://www.abilenecityhall.com/index.aspx?NID=9

Greyhound Hall of Fame, Abilene http://greyhoundhalloffame.com/

Council Grove

Madonna of the Trail, Council Grove https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Madonna_of_the_Trail

https://www.councilgrove.com/historicsites

Post Office Oak, Council Grove https://www.councilgrove.com/historicsites  https://www.travelks.com/listing/post-office-oak/45/

Farmers & Drovers Bank in Council Grove https://www.councilgrove.com/historicsites

Old Bell Monument, Council Grove https://www.travelks.com/listing/old-bell-monument/3594/

https://www.councilgrove.com/

Emporia

Schmidt Museum of Natural History, Emporia https://www.travelks.com/listing/schmidt-museum-of-natural-history/2715/

Topeka

Kansas Museum of History, Topeka https://www.kshs.org/museum

 

TRAIL EXPLORATION

Santa Fe Trail http://www.santafetrail.org/chapters/cottonwood/

Chisholm Trail http://chisholmtrail150.org/

Historic Trails, Canton https://www.travelks.com/listing/historic-trails/3006/

 

RELIGIOUS INTEREST

St. John Nepomucene Catholic church http://hfpmc.org/churches/st-john-nepomucene-pilsen

http://fatherkapaun.org/pilgrimages/st-john-nepomucene-church

http://fatherkapaun.org/pilgrimages/visiting-pilsen

 

RECREATIONAL & NATURE

Marion County Lake http://www.marioncountyparkandlake.com/

Marion Reservoir http://www.swt.usace.army.mil/Locations/Tulsa-District-Lakes/Kansas/Marion-Reservoir/

Tallgrass Prairie Reserve https://www.nps.gov/tapr/index.htm

Chase County Falls on Prather Creek http://www.kansastravel.org/chaselakefalls.htm

Chase County Lake https://www.travelks.com/listing/chase-state-fishing-lake/23967/

Kansas Hunting https://www.travelks.com/things-to-do/sports-recreation/hunting/

Cottonwood Falls http://www.kansastravel.org/cottonwoodfalls.htm

Sodens Dam Falls http://www.kansastravel.org/sodensdamfalls.htm

Geary Lake Falls http://www.kansastravel.org/gearylakefalls.htm

Elm Spring http://www.kansastravel.org/elmsprings.htm

Deep Creek Waterfall http://www.kansastravel.org/pillsburycrossing.htm

Browns Park Waterfall, Abilene http://www.kansastravel.org/brownsparkwaterfall.htm

 

ANTIQUE SHOPPING

Marion

Bearly Makin’ It Antiques & The Old Mill – 308 E Main Marion, KS   66861 Phone: (620) 382-2127 http://www.bearlymakinitantiques.com/

TC’s What Not Shop 901 E Main Marion, KS   66861 Phone: (620) 382-2014 https://www.facebook.com/TCsWhatNotShop/

The Copper Shed 1832 140th Marion, KS 66861 (620) 382-2041 https://www.facebook.com/thecoppershed/

Hillsboro

Cedar Creek Salvage 316 N Cedar St, Hillsboro, KS (620) 483-4426 https://www.facebook.com/cedarstreetsalvageco/

Red Barn Antiques 207 N. Main, Hillsboro KS 67063 (620) 947-3219

Molly’s on Main St 119 S Main St Hillsboro, KS   67063 Phone: (620) 947-5714 https://www.facebook.com/mollyson.mainst

Canton

Three Sisters Victorian Tea & Treasures, 105 S Main St, Canton, KS 67428 (620) 628-4484 https://www.facebook.com/threesisters.tea/

Newton

Metcalf Sisters Antiques & Collectibles 224 N Main Newton, KS   67114 Phone: (316) 283-5570 https://www.facebook.com/Metcalf-Sisters-Antiques-and-Collectibles-498326580186/

Layman’s Antique Mall 703 N. Main St., Newton, KS 67114 (316) 282-1212 https://www.facebook.com/LaymansAntiqueMallandFleaMarket/

Wharf Road 413 N. Main, Newton, KS 67114 (316) 204-5068 http://www.wharfroadantiques.com/

El Dorado

Haverhill Antiques 811 S Haverhill Rd El Dorado, KS   67042 Phone: (316) 321-3199 https://www.facebook.com/haverhillantiques/

Silver Hill 1200 W Central El Dorado, KS   67042 Phone: (316) 322-8900

Hesston

Emma Creek Antiques 100 N. Main, Hesston, KS (620) 327-4118 https://www.facebook.com/EmmaCreeksAntiques/

McPherson

The Rare Find 218 N Main McPherson, KS   67460 Phone: (620) 241-7178 http://www.rarefindmcpherson.com/

Gypsy Wagon 302 N. Main, McPherson, KS 67460 (620) 241-8888 https://www.facebook.com/GypsyWagonandCo/

Council Grove

Rerun Consignments & Antique Mall 108 W. Main, Council Grove, KS 66846 (620) 767-8146 http://www.rerunconsignments.com/

Main Street Mercantile 204 E. Main St., Council Grove, KS 66846 (620) 767-7405

Emporia

Rhinestones & Rust, 618 Merchant St, Emporia, KS 66801 (620) 208-7800 http://rhinestonesrust.com/

Poehler Mercantile Antique Mall, Emporia 301 Commercial St, Emporia, KS 66801 (620) 341-9092 https://www.facebook.com/pages/Poehler-Mercantile-Antique-Mall/152209334821046Paper Moon Antiques, 317 Commercial St., Emporia, KS 66801 (620) 412-2759 https://www.antiquespapermoon.com/

Dalton Gang Antiques, 502 S Commercial St, Emporia, KS 66801 (620) 342-9217

 

UNIQUE EXPERIENCES

Abilene & Smoky Valley Excursion Train http://www.asvrr.org/

Pilgrim Ranch Retreat, Cottonwood Falls http://pilgrimranch.com/

Maxwell Wildlife Refuge https://www.maxwellwildliferefuge.com/

Prairie Rose Ranch http://prranchks.prairierosechuckwagon.com/

Flying W Ranch http://www.flinthillsflyingw.com/

 

CULTURE & ENTERTAINMENT

Emma Chase Friday Night Music in Cottonwood Falls https://www.facebook.com/EmmaChaseMusic

Symphony in the Flint Hills Gallery http://chasecountychamber.org/symphony-in-the-flint-hills-gallery/